The Anti-Racism and Departmental Diversity, Equity and Inclusion initiative established in 2020 catalyzes a health system wide effort to advance the following goals outlined in the UC Davis Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Strategic Vision.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) committee taskforces achieve these goals by several means.  By appointing and empowering taskforces to assess efforts in critical DEI-impacting processes, such as hiring and promotion, we stimulate more attention, consideration, and accountability to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in those processes.  In other words, these taskforces help leaders, managers, and members of a department stay focused on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion goals. 


To advance health and improve care for everyone. To do so, we — the faculty, staff and students of the Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis — must reflect the communities we serve. We see one another as whole people and not simply as single aspects of our personhood. For us, diversity recognizes an infinite number and intersections of dimensions of identity. Inclusion is about how we nurture a culture where opportunities extend equitably to each member. We believe in equity for all — we strive to make our school a powerful example of societal change. As we learn and work together, compassion and humility fuel our innovation and connect us with our communities. We commit to regular reflection on how seriously and substantively we enact these principles on a daily basis, so each of us leads to turn the tide in our national discourse on race, equity and justice.

Terri Harvath, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., F.G.S.A.
Emily Sanson-Smith, MBA

Catherine D. Cansino, M.D.
Abigail Kaye, M.D.
Arielle Dumas, M.D.
Claudia Lopez, M.D.
Keyon Mitchell, M.D.
Obinna Oko, M.D.
Tali Pomerantz, M.D.
Nandini Nittur, M.D.
Zahabiya Chithiwala, M.D.
Roxana Mohhebali, M.D.
Bryn Wilson
Clara Paik, M.D.
Debra Wright, M.D.
Shannon McSmith

Bridget Wilson, M.S.N., R.N., FNP-BC, CNRN
Brenna Rizan, MSW, LCSW
Jessica Sisson, RN
Vanessa Kennedy, M.D.
Rachel Ruskin, M.D.
Amy George, M.D., FACOG
Melissa Chen, M.D., M.P.H.
Melissa Matulich, M.D., MAS
Susan Gorman, M.D.

Council Mission

The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Council for Patient Care Services implements and maintains standards of nursing practice consistent with evidence-based practice. Aligning with the Principles of Community and the University of California Davis Health mission and vision, the DEI Council is committed to advancing the strategic goal of supporting diversity, equity and inclusion as being integral to the care of ourselves, our colleagues, and our patients and their families. The DEI Council will direct and facilitate the journey toward anti-racism. As stated in the Principles of Community, “We confront and reject all manifestations of discrimination, including those based on race, ethnicity, gender and gender expression, age, visible and non-visible disability, nationality, sexual orientation, citizenship status, veteran status, religious/non-religious, spiritual, or political beliefs, socio-economic class, status within or outside the university, or any of the other differences among people which have been excuses for misunderstanding, dissension or hatred.” We support learning that optimizes cultural humility, caring and compassion.

Read the council charter

Toby Marsh, R.N., M.S.A., M.S.N., F.A.C.H.E., N.E.A.-BC, Chief Patient Care Services, Sponsor
Carter Todd, R.N., M.S., CCRN, Chair
Kywaita Keys, R.N., B.S.N., Co-Chair
Aron King, R.N., B.S.N.
Calene Roseman, R.N., M.S.N.
Marcus Christian, CSPHA
Troy Taylor, Manager, Materials Management
Darrell Desmond, R.N., M.S.N., NE-BC
Floreece Johnson, R.N., B.S.N.
Greg Woods, R.N., B.S.N.
Theresa Pak, R.N., M.S., NEA BC
Annie Tat, R.N., M.S.
Arthur Hernandez, R.N., FNP

Cynthia Romero, R.N., B.S.N.
Joseph Reguindin, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.N.(c), CCRN, PHN
Kristina Balneg, R.N., B.S.N., M.S.N.(c), CCRN, PHN
Michelle Linenberger, M.S.N. Ed., R.N., CCRN-K, NPD-BC
Nicole Vance R.N., B.S.N.
Mercedes Piedra, M.S. Ed.D. (c)
Neil Oppenheimer, R.N., M.S., CCRN
Tyler Melhalff, R.N., B.S.N.

Erik Fernandez y Garcia, M.D.
Laura Kester, M.D.
Mikah Owens, M.D.


The Diversity Advisory Committee (DAC) explores and addresses the diversity needs of the UC Davis Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. DAC is comprised of residents, fellows, and faculty members interested in addressing issues of cultural psychiatry, diversity, and inclusion as it pertains to training, clinical services, and research. The group has multiple aims including cultural psychiatry curriculum development, enhancing cultural psychiatry research, recruiting underrepresented minority trainees and faculty, planning events to promote cultural psychiatry within and beyond the department, and providing support to students, residents, and faculty within the department.

Cultural Psychiatry Advisory Board

Francis Liu, M.D., M.S.
Russell Lim, M.D.
Shannon Suo, M.D.
Hendry Ton, M.D., M.S.

Faculty Members

Ladson Hinton, M.D., B.A.
Alan Koike, M.D.
Andres Sciolla, M.D.
Swati Rao, M.D.
Puja Chadha, M.D.
Huma Atari, M.D.
Rachel Robitz, M.D.
Khalima Bolden, Ph.D.
Faye Dixon, Ph.D.
Poh Choo How, M.D.

Resident Members

Bethel Essaw, PGY-2
Joseph Kim, PGY-2
Rachel Mitchell, PGY-3
Carol Chen, PGY-3
Christina Bourne, PGY-3
Christina Kho, PGY-4
Luz Arroyo Contreras, PGY-5
Cassy Friedrich, PGY-5

Faculty Members

Olivia Campa, M.D.
Stephanie Sanchez, M.D.
Alicia Gonzalez-Flores, M.D.

Resident Members

Jorge Salazar, M.D, Chair