2024-2025

GRAND ROUNDS AND COMPARATIVE OPHTHALMOLOGY SERIES



Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the 2024-2025 UC Davis Eye Center Continuing Medical Education activities.

Each year, our department provides a series of Grand Rounds Comparative Ophthalmology Programs, didactics and our Annual Symposium, designed to provide the community and our region with high-quality continuing medical education in ophthalmology.

For the coming year, we have planned an exciting Grand Rounds Series listed in this brochure. We invite you to join us at the Eye Center for these CME activities in each of the subspecialties of ophthalmology.

The Annual Ophthalmology Symposium, NAPA EYE 2025, will be returning to the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel, May 16-18, 2025. The full program, registration form and hotel information will be posted on the Eye Center's website.

On Saturday, June 21, 2025, the Eye Center will host the Resident, Fellow and Alumni Research Day. This one-day educational program will include resident and fellow research presentations and will feature the Alumnus of the Year Lecture and the Byron Demorest Lecture.

We hope you will take advantage of these excellent educational opportunities.

Sincerely,

Mark J. Mannis, M.D.

Natalie Fosse Endowed Chair In Vision Science Research

SYMPOSIA CAI ENDAR

MAY 16-18, 2025

NAPA EYE 2025 Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa, CA **JUNE 21, 2025**

Resident, Fellow and Alumni Research Day Hilton Arden West Sacramento, CA

CONFERENCE LOCATIONS

ERNEST E. TSCHANNEN EYE INSTITUTE

4th FLOOR, MILLER CONFERENCE ROOM 4860 Y STREET, SACRAMENTO

VETERINARY MEDICINE (VET MED)

VET MED II, DAVIS

CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

7:00 - 7:30 am ARRIVAL & BREAKFAST

*7:30 - 8:45 am ROUNDS AND DISCUSSION

*9:00 - 11:00 am VISITING PROFESSOR LECTURE

*times are approximate

SEPTEMBER 20, 2024

PDT

7:30 - 9:30am FALL INTERNATIONAL TELEMEDICINE International Telemedicine Part I with the Federal University of São Paulo, Brazil

Mark Mannis, M.D., F.A.C.S. Natalie Fosse Endowed Chair in Vision Science Research

Chairman and Distinguished Professor University of California, Davis Health

Sacramento, CA

Denise de Freitas, M.D.

Professor, Department of Ophthalmology

Federal University of São Paulo

São Paulo, Brazil

NOVEMBER 1, 2024

7:30 - 11:00am NEURO-OPHTHALMOLOGY

PDT

Lynn K. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., Visiting Professor

UCLA Stein Eve Institute Los Angeles, CA

JANUARY 31, 2025

PST

7:30 - 11:00am GLAUCOMA

Benjamin Y. Xu, M.D., Ph.D., Visiting Professor

USC Roski Eye Institute Keck School of Medicine Los Angeles, CA

MARCH 7, 2025

7:30 - 11:00am CORNEA

PST

Winston D. Chamberlain, M.D., Ph.D., Visiting Professor

Department of Ophthalmology Oregon Health Sciences University

Portland, OR

APRIL 4, 2025

7:00 - 11:00am RETINA

PDT

Emily Y. Chew, M.D., Visiting Professor National Eye Institute at the NIH

Bethesda, MD

APRIL 11, 2025

7:00 - 9:30am COMPARATIVE OPHTHALMOLOGY: PDT **VET MEDICINE**

Sara Thomasy, D.V.M., Ph.D., D.A.C.V.O. Professor of Comparative Ophthalmology

Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Science, School of

Department of Surgical & Radiological Sciences, School of

Veterinary Medicine University of California, Davis

Davis, CA

Brian Leonard, D.V.M., Ph.D., D.A.C.V.O.

Associate Professor of Comparative Ophthalmology Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Science, School of Medicine & School of Veterinary Medicine

University of California, Davis

Davis, CA

MAY 2, 2025

7:00 - 11:00am PEDIATRIC OPHTHALMOLOGY

PDT

Ryan A. Gise, M.D., Visiting Professor Boston Children's Hospital

Boston, MA

JUNE 6, 2025

7:00 - 11:00am UVEITIS

PDT

Phoebe Lin, M.D., Ph.D., Visiting Professor

Cole Eye Institute Cleveland Clinic Cleveland, OH

JUNE 13, 2025

PDT

7:00 - 9:30am SPRING INTERNATIONAL TELEMEDICINE International Telemedicine Part II with the Federal University of São Paulo, Brazil

Mark Mannis, M.D., F.A.C.S. Natalie Fosse Endowed Chair in Vision Science Research

Chairman and Distinguished Professor University of California, Davis Health

Sacramento, CA

Denise de Freitas, M.D.

Professor, Department of Ophthalmology

Federal University of São Paulo

São Paulo, Brazil

FYF CENTER FACULTY

LEADERSHIP

Mark Mannis, M.D., F.A.C.S. Natalie Fosse Endowed Chair in Vision Science Research Chairman and Distinguished Professor

Michele Lim, M.D., Vice Chair & Medical Director

James Brandt, M.D.,
Director, Glaucoma Service & Glaucoma
Fellowship Program
Daryl & Opal Geweke Endowed Chair in
Glaucoma
Professor & Vice-Chair for International
Programs and New Technology

Nandini Gandhi, M.D., Byron Demorest Chair in Pediatric Ophthalmology Residency Program Director

Paul Sieving, M.D., Ph.D.,
Neil and M.J. Kelly Presidential Chair in
Vitreoretinal Science
Research Director
Center for Vision Science Director

Gary Novack, Ph.D. Vice Chair of Collaborative Research

COMPREHENSIVE

Esther Kim, M.D., Director (emeritus) Jeffrey Caspar, M.D. Jeffrey Ma, M.D. Andrew Nelson, M.D.

CORNEA AND EXTERNAL DISEASE

Jennifer Li, M.D., Director Mark Mannis, M.D. Mathew Margolis, M.D. Ivan Schwab, M.D. (emeritus)

GLAUCOMA

James Brandt, M.D., Director Rebecca Chen, M.D. Michele Lim. M.D.

NEURO-OPHTHALMOLOGY

Yin "Allison" Liu, M.D., Ph.D. John Keltner, M.D. (emeritus)

OCULAR PATHOLOGY

Esther Kim, M.D., Director (emeritus) Andrew Nelson, M.D.

OCULAR SURFACE DISEASE

Jeffrey Ma, M.D. Instructor of Record

OCULOPLASTICS

Lily Koo Lin, M.D., Director

PEDIATRICS

Nandini Gandhi, M.D., Director Marcela Estrada, M.D. Benjamin Jastrzembski, M.D.

REFRACTIVE SURGERY

Jeffrey Caspar, M.D., Director Jennifer Li, M.D.

RETINA

Susanna Park, M.D., Ph.D., Director
Barbara A. & Alan M. Roth, M.D.
Endowed Chair in Discovery, Education
and Patient Care in Vision Science
Director, Vitreoretinal Fellowship
Parisa Emami, M.D., M.P.H.
Ala Moshiri, M.D., Ph.D.
Kareem Moussa, M.D.
Paul Sieving, M.D., Ph.D.
Glenn Yiu, M.D., Ph.D.

UVEITIS

Parisa Emami, M.D., M.P.H., Director Kareem Moussa, M.D.

RESEARCH

Paul Sieving, M.D., Ph.D., Director Marie Burns, Ph.D. Paul FitzGerald, Ph.D. Mark Goldman, Ph.D. Ravi Jonnal, Ph.D. Brian Leonard, D.V.M., Ph.D., D.A.C.V.O. Nicholas Marsh-Armstrong, Ph.D. Daryl and Opal Geweke Endowed Chair in Glaucoma Research Ratheesh Meleppat, Ph.D. Christopher Murphy, D.V.M., Ph.D. (emeritus) Gary Novack, Ph.D. Edward Pugh, Ph.D. Zeljka Smit-McBride, Ph.D. Charles Thirkill, Ph.D. (emeritus) Sara Thomasy, D.V.M., Ph.D.

OPTOMETRIC SERVICES

Jeffrey Ma, M.D., Director Kaaryn Pederson-Vanbuskirk, O.D., F.A.A.O.

Manager, Optometric Services
Brooke Chang, O.D.
Lauren Guajardo, O.D.
Larisa Johnson-Tong, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Heidi Miller, O.D., F.A.A.O., F.S.L.S.
Marcia Nearing, O.D., F.A.A.O.
Rachel Sather, O.D.
Hai Tong, O.D.
Jenny Truong, O.D.
Tina Zeng, O.D., F.A.A.O.

ORTHOPTICS

Tania Hashmi, CO, B.Med.Sci.

VETERANS AFFAIRS OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA HEALTH CARE SYSTEM

David Chu, M.D. – Interim Chief Harinder Chahal, M.D. Parisa Emami, M.D., M.P.H. Vivian Lien, M.D. Elizabeth Marlow, M.D. Tushar Ranchod, M.D. Tiffany Wong, M.D. Michael Yen, M.D.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Grand Rounds and Comparative Ophthalmology Series

Shon Elmer 916-734-6891 vrelmer@ucdavis.edu www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/eyecenter

CME Activities

Rebecca Subbotin 916-224-7794 Mobile rhheath@ucdavis.edu

John Werner, Ph.D. (emeritus)

Robert Zawadzki, Ph.D. Min Zhao, M.D., Ph.D.