NEWS | October 17, 2018

Putting patients first: UC Davis Medical Groups nationally recognized for continuous quality improvement and patient-centered care


Sixteen UC Davis Medical Group sites have received Patient-Centered Medical Home recognitions from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), an organization that studies how well health plans and doctors provide scientifically recommended care.

Recognized clinics have met NCQA’s rigorous certification process that ensures practices demonstrate a commitment to building strong relationships between patients and their clinical care teams, a tenet of the medical home approach to care.

Each clinic must apply for the medical home recognition annually and meet criteria in six concept areas:

  • team-based care and practice organization
  • knowing and managing patients
  • patient-centered access and continuity
  • care management and support
  • care coordination and transitions
  • performance measurement and quality improvement

Approximately 13,000 primary care practices (with more than 67,000 clinicians) have been recognized in the U.S. as NCQA medical homes. A directory of recognized organizations is available online.

Recognized UC Davis Medical Groups include:

Auburn Family Medicine, Internal Medicine & Pediatrics

Campus Commons Family Medicine & Internal Medicine/Pediatrics

Carmichael Internal Medicine & Family Medicine

Davis Internal Medicine, Family Medicine & Pediatrics

Elk Grove Internal Medicine, Family Medicine & Pediatrics

Family Medicine, Hospital-based Clinic

Folsom Internal Medicine & Family Medicine

Folsom Pediatrics

Internal Medicine Hospital-based Clinic

Midtown Family Medicine & Pediatrics

Midtown Internal Medicine

Natomas Family Medicine

Pediatrics Hospital-based Clinic

Rancho Cordova Family Medicine

Rocklin Internal Medicine & Family Medicine

Roseville Internal Medicine, Family Medicine & Pediatrics