School of Medicine announces 2022 Cultivating Team Science awards


The School of Medicine announced today the 2022 Cultivating Team Science seed grant program awardees. The grants are awarded to collaborative science projects for which the lead principal investigators are School of Medicine faculty, and the team represents at least two School of Medicine departments.

“We are delighted that this year’s Cultivating Team Science grant announcement generated several competitive and creative research proposals across departments and centers throughout the School of Medicine,” said Kim E. Barrett, School of Medicine vice dean for research. “It’s a testament to the vibrant interdisciplinary research and spirit of collaboration across our campus.”

The awardees are:

  • Principal Investigator David Segal, professor of biochemistry and pharmacology and affiliate of the UC Davis MIND Institute and Genome Center. Segal and his team were awarded for their proposal, An Academic Center for Interventional Genetics. Segal’s interdisciplinary team includes researchers from psychiatry and behavioral science and neurology.

  • Principal Investigator Aijun Wang, professor of surgery, vice chair for Translational Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship and co-director of the Surgical Bioengineering Laboratory, will lead his team’s study, Extracellular Vesicle Theranostics in the Central Nervous System. This collaborative study includes researchers from surgical subspecialties, pharmacology, biomedical engineering, pathology, and computer science.

The Cultivating Team Science awards will provide $100,000 annually per team, totaling $200,000 in two-year seed funds for planning, preparation and submission of large team-based applications. The awarded teams will be required to submit an initial application for a program project, U01 or equivalent grant to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) or other federal funding agency by June 2023.

The award application and selection process was led by this year’s Cultivating Team Science award review committee co-chairs, Satya Dandekar, chair of the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology, and Lydia Howell, chair of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, and coordinated by the School of Medicine’s Office of Research.

Nineteen faculty members reviewed this year’s proposals. The proposals were reviewed for significance and impact, team composition and synergy, and potential for federal funding following the NIH scoring method.