NEWS | February 12, 2010

Fishman receives distinguished service award from American Academy of Pain Medicine


Scott Fishman, professor and chief of the UC Davis Division of Pain Medicine, has received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Academy of Pain Medicine.

Bestowed last week during the AAPM’s annual meeting in San Antonio, the award recognizes Fishman’s “outstanding commitment and invaluable contributions” to the academy.

A past president of AAPM, Fishman is a member of the AAPM Program Committee, serves as director-at-large on the AAPM Board of Directors, and is the current president and chair of the American Pain Foundation. He is an active member of 16 professional societies and also serves on the Pain Committee Council of Scientific Affairs for the California Medical Association, and UC Davis Medical Center’s Bioethics Committee, Communications Committee and Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee.

Fishman serves as section editor and reviewer for nine journals and medical-education publications. He has presented more than 300 lectures to regional and national audiences, and has published nine books, 33 book chapters and 82 original articles.

His books include “The War on Pain,” “Listening to Pain,” “The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Medicine” and “Essentials of Pain Medicine and Regional Anesthesia.” He is senior editor of “Pain Medicine.”

For the past two years, Fishman has been listed in the annual “America’s Top Doctors” guide. He recently received the Josephina Magno Award for Excellence in Education and Leadership from Capital Hospice.

Fishman is a frequent advocate on the topic of pain medicine in the public-policy arena at both the state and national levels. He has given expert legislative and government testimony before the FDA, Congress and the California Senate.