Photo of alumni members during luncheon Alumni members enjoying the afternoon luncheon.

Over the years, the UC Davis School of Medicine has grown a multi-generational family of alumni supporters. This June, as the school graduated its 35th class of medical students, alumni celebrated with a 35th Anniversary Gala: "Honoring the Past, Celebrating the Future."

The event, held at the Education Building and F. William Blaisdell, M.D., Medical Library on June 9 on commencement weekend, honored the current graduating class along with the classes of 1972, 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, 1997 and 2002. It included a special effort to support student scholarships and awards to School of Medicine graduates for their outstanding work and service.

The event began with a challenge from Michael Carl, chair of the alumni association's scholarship committee. After renewing his $5,000 pledge, he asked each alumnus to help mitigate medical student debt by giving a one-time gift or enrolling in recurring gift fulfillment pledge program. By the end of the night, he has raised $25,000 toward the alumni association's scholarship fund, with many more alumni inquiring about how to give.

Claire Pomeroy, vice chancellor of Human Health Sciences at UC Davis and dean of the UC Davis School of Medicine, also presented the top three alumni awards to physicians whose work "embodies, embraces and advocates" the values of UC Davis School of Medicine. She specifically mentioned how the night's awardees were actively advancing the values of social justice and social responsibility.

Reginald Low, UC Davis Health System chief of cardiovascular medicine, received the Distinguished Alumni Award for his work as a leading global interventional cardiologist. Often called "the cardiologists' cardiologist" by his peers, Low has grown UC Davis' cardiovascular medicine program into one of the strongest in the country.

Joan E. Baumer, chair of family medicine at the John Peter Smith Health Network in Fort  Worth, Texas, received the Humanitarian Award for her decades-long outreach efforts in areas such as women's health, substance abuse, sexual abuse, teen health and rural health care. Also, she actively led several institutions in North Texas to provide health care, medicine and social services for thousands of evacuees from hurricanes Katrina and Rita in 2005.

Ellen Feigal received UC Davis Health System's first-ever Transformational Leadership Award, which honors someone who has "enhanced the profession, improved the welfare of the general public, provided for personal distinction and brought honor to our university." Her collaborative work with organizations such as the Food and Drug Administration, National Cancer Institute, Translational Genomics Institute and Critical Path Institute are helping to cut through red tape and bring life-saving drugs to patients as quickly and safely as possible.

The UC Davis School of Medicine Alumni Association also honored Jim Silverthorn with the Housestaff Professionalism Award for his work as the chief medical resident in neurological surgery.

These four awardees are featured along with former recipient's photographs on the Alumni Wall of Honor on the 3rd floor of the Education Building.

Click on any photograph below for a larger version.

Photo of Claire Pomeroy and Reggie Low Photo of Photo of Photo of Jim Silverthorn
Claire Pomeroy and
Reginald Low
Claire Pomeroy and
Joan Baumer
Claire Pomeroy and
Ellen Feigal
Jim Silverthorn