Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Distinguished Alumnus Award, established in 1988, was created to give recognition annually to an alumna/us of UC Davis School of Medicine or the UC Davis Medical Center for contributions to society and distinguishing themselves through outstanding achievements in medicine. Below is a summary of past Distinguished Alumna/us recipients:

2023 Stuart Cohen, M.D. (F'83)
2022 Robert Fontaine, M.D. (BS’68, MD’97)
2021 Michael Neely, M.D. (MD’96)
2020 Lynne Smith, M.D. (MD’90)
2019 Francis J. Sousa, M.D. (MD’74, RS’79)
2018 Lars Osterberg, M.D., M.P.H. (MD’91)
2017 Regina Gandour-Edwards, M.D. (MD ’85)
2014 Douglas Gross, M.D., Ph. D. (MD '90, RS '93)
2013 William A. Newsom, Jr., M.D. (MD '72)
2012 John P. Iguidbashian, M.D. (RS '94)
2011 Simon Cohn, M.D. (MD '75)
2010 Dennis Bourdette, M.D. (MD '78)
2009 Saul Schaefer, M.D. (MD '81)
2008 Felix D. Battistella, M.D. (MD '85, RS '90)
2007 Reginald Low, M.D. (MD '75)
2006 Garen Wintemute, M.D., M.P.H. (MD '77)
2005 David Kilmer, M.D. (MD '85, RS '89)
2004 R. Steven Tharratt, M.D., M.P.V.M. (RS '88, MPVM '01)
2003 Lloyd Smith, M.D., M.P.H. (BS '69, MD '81)
2002 Robert Wiebe, M.D.
2001 Edward Yeh, M.D. (MD '80)
2000 Jeffrey Tanji, M.D. (MD '82)
1999 Amparo Villablanca, M.D. (MD '83)
1998 Kenneth Facter, M.D. (MD '82)
1997 Thomas Nesbitt, M.D., M.P.H. (BA '75, MD '79)
1996 David Wisner, M.D. (BA '77, MD '81)
1995 Timothy Albertson, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H. (MS '76, MD '77, Ph.D. '80)
1994 Steven Edelman, M.D. (MD '82)
1993 Fred Meyers, M.D. (RS '82)
1992 Robin Hansen, M.D. (MD '77)
1991 Dennis Devereux, M.D. (MD '74)
1990 John Longhurst, M.D. (BS '69, MD '73, Ph.D '74)
1989 Daniel O'Connor, M.D. (MD '74)
1988 Janice Phillips Dutcher, M.D. (MD '75)

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award, established in 1990 was created to give recognition annually to an alumna/us of the UC Davis School of Medicine or the UC Davis Medical Center for outstanding contributions to their community through distinguished public service. Below is a summary of past Humanitarian Award recipients:

2023 Scott Christensen, M.D. (MD'91, RS'94)
2022 Kathryn (Katy) Carlsen, M.D. (BS’87, RS’94, F'98)
2021 Bruce Spurlock, M.D. (MD’86)
2020 G. Rom Kandavel, M.D. (MD’01)
2019 John C. Shepherd, M.D. (MD’79)
2018 Randall (Randy) Stenson, MD (MD’72)
2017 Abdul K. Harris, M.D. (MD ’95)
2014 Robert B. Miller, M.D. (MD '82, RS '86)
2013 Louis A. Vismara, M.D. (RS’71)
2012 D. Dawn Motyka, M.D. (MD '87)
2011 Katherine Flores, M.D. (MD '79)
2010 Bryna Kane, M.D. (MD '80)
2009 Terrence Smith, M.D. (MD '79)
2008 Condessa Curley, M.D., M.P.H. (MD '96)
2007 Joan Baumer, M.D. (MD '77)
2006 John Chuck, M.D.
2005 Alan Kelley, M.D. (MD '83)
2004 Carolyn Shepherd, M.D. (MD '79)
2003 Martin Anderson, M.D. (BS '76, MD '80)
2002 Bruce Greenberg, M.D. (MD '75)
2001 Paul Hom, M.D. (MD '73)
1999 Ernie Bodai, M.D. (MD '77, RS)
1998 Tim Marten, M.D. (MD '82)
1997 Jon Andrus, M.D. (MD '79)
1996 Herbert Bauer, M.D. (RS '75)
1995 Neil Flynn, M.D. (RS '77)
1994 Patricia Samuelson, M.D. (MD '84)
1993 Salmon Paul Daniels, M.D. (MD '79)
1992 Milburn Mar, M.D. (MD '75)
1991 Antonio Velasco, M.D. (MD '79)

Transformational Leadership Award

The recipient of the Transformational Leadership Award is an alumna/us of the UC Davis School of Medicine or Medical Center whose professional achievements and contributions have enhanced the profession, improved the welfare of the general public, provided for personal distinction and brought honor to her/his alma mater. Below is a summary of Transformational Leadership Award recipients:

2023 Bobeck Modjtahedi, M.D. (MD'09, RS'13)
2022 David Inwards-Breland, M.D. (MD’97)
2021 Christopher Longhurst, M.D. (MSc’00, MD’01)
2020 Kathleen Jennison Goonan, M.D. (MD '82)
2018 Nadine Burke Harris, M.D., M.P.H. (MD’01)
2017 Jose J. Galvez, M.D. (MD ’93, RS ’95)
2014 Garen Wintemute, M.D. (MD '77)
2013 Jon Andrus, M.D. (MD '79)
2012 Ernie Bodai, M.D. (MD '77, RS)
2011 Steven Edelman, M.D. (MD '82)
2010 Kathleen Taylor, M.D. (MD '80)
2009 Thomas Nesbitt, M.D. (BA '75, MD '79)
2008 Willard H. Dere, M.D. (BA '75, MD '80)
2007 Ellen Feigal, M.D. (MD '81)

Clinical Fellow Professionalism Award

The Clinical Fellow Professionalism Award, established in 2008, recognizes residents who exhibit attributes of professionalism as defined by the American Board of Internal Medicine, encompassing aspiration to altruism, accountability, excellence, duty, service, honor, integrity and respect for others. Below is a summary of past recipients:

2022 Rebecca Corbett, D.O., Pulmonary Critical Care
2021 Adrienne Hoyt-Austin, M.D., Pediatrics
2020 Bradley Sanville, M.D., Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
2019 Robert Bellerose, M.D., Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
2016 Bradlee Bachar, M.D., Anesthesiology
2015 Ian Julie, M.D., Medical Simulation
2014 Jeffrey Paulsen, M.D., Cardiology
2013 Yvonne Lee, M.D., Pediatric Endocrinology
2012 Katherine Cayetano, M.D., Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
2011 Yasmeen Shaw, M.D., Pulmonary and Critical Care
2010 Jennifer Li, M.D., Eye Center
2009 Aubrey Yao, M.D., Anesthesiology
2008 Rafael Rodriguez, M.D., Pathology

Resident Professionalism Award

The Resident Professionalism Award, was created in 2002 by the School of Medicine Alumni Association to recognize and honor a resident identified by his/her co-workers and ancillary staff for exemplifying the attributes to professionalism. The American Board of Internal Medicine defines professionalism as one who "aspires to altruism, accountability, excellence, duty, service, honor, integrity, and respect for others." Below is a summary of past Resident Professionalism recipients:

2022 Maria Garnica-Albor, M.D., Internal Medicine
2021 Augustine (Augie) Saiz, M.D., Orthopaedic Surgery
2020 Luis Godoy, M.D., Thoracic Surgery (BS'08, MD'17, RS'20)
2019 Tamar Binyamin, M.D., Neurosurgery
2016 Nirav Patel, M.D., Surgery
2015 Christina Di Loreto, M.D., Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
2014 Samuel Lance, M.D., Surgery/Plastic Surgery
2013 Bobeck Modjtahedi, M.D., Opthalmology
2012 Dominique Rash, M.D., Radiation Oncology
2011 Sampaguita Tafoya, M.D., Anesthesiology/Pain Medicine
2010 Mark Fedor, M.D., Neurosurgery
2009 Kia Shahlaie, M.D., Ph.D., Neurosurgery
2008 Gudrun Kungys, M.D., Anesthesiology
2007 James Silverthorn, M.D., Neurosurgery
2006 Jeffrey Southard, M.D., Cardiology
2006 Mojca Konia, M.D., Anesthesiology
2005 David Deyhimy, M.D., Anesthesiology
2004 Sarah Pirio Richardson, M.D., Neurosurgery
2003 Kristen Vandewalker, M.D., Pathology
2003 Melissa McCall, M.D., Anesthesiology
2002 John Martin, M.D., Internal Medicine