Betty Irene Moore Hall bears the name of a passionate woman dedicated to improving the quality of health care. For more than a decade, Mrs. Moore has been an advocate for patients and families, a champion of nursing and a pioneer for improving health care. She is the co-founder of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, which committed $100 million in 2007 to launch the School of Nursing at UC Davis.

Through Mrs. Moore’s vision, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation led a movement to improve patient care through nurses. This was based on her personal experiences when in the hospital and in caring for others who had been hospitalized. Mrs. Moore saw how nurses play a critical role in the delivery of safe, quality health care and set out to improve it by investing in the very people who deliver 95 percent of the care people receive. This vision is further amplified by the school’s approach to health sciences education, where nurses and other professionals are prepared to lead the changes necessary in health care.

Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis

Debbie Ward, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.


Jerry Bambao, M.S., R.N.-B.C.
Jacqueline Clavo-Hall, Ph.D., M.S., J.D., R.N.
Claire Fagin, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Christine Lima, Ph.D., M.S.N., R.N.
Rayne Soriano, Ph.D., R.N.
Helen Thomson, R.N.


Rebecca Badeaux, M.S.J.
Jenny Carrick
Sheryl Catz, Ph.D.
Terri Harvath, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Jana Katz-Bell, M.P.H.
Gerald Kayingo, Ph.D., P.A.-C.
Elizabeth Rice, Ph.D., P.M.H.N.P.-B.C., R.N.
Sallie-Grace Tate
Heather M. Young, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.



CONTRIBUTORS Rebecca Badeaux, Jenny Carrick, Terri Harvath, Ricky Norwood

PHOTOGRAPHY Rebecca Badeaux, Jenny Carrick, Jeremy Sykes

SPECIAL THANKS to Sutter Health Foundation, Eskaton, Edda Caraballo, Jessica Draughon Moret and Gordon Moore for permission to publish select photos.

DESIGN Page Design Group

PRINTING Fong & Fong

The University of California does not discriminate in any of its policies, procedures or practices. The university is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer.

Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis

Engaged Partners


G. Russell (Russ) Bell, Ph.D. (Chair)
Joanne M. Disch, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N. (Co-chair)
Linda Burnes Bolton, Dr.PH., M.S.N., F.A.A.N.
Louis Burns
Natalie Bush, R.N., M.S.N.
Dario J. Frommer, J.D.
Deborah Greenwood, Ph.D., R.N., C.D.E., F.A.A.D.E.
Britta Guerrero
Sandra R. Hernandez, M.D.
Susan Reinhard, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Diane Schweitzer
Helen Thomson, R.N.
Richard B. Weininger, M.D.
Page West, R.N., C.C.R.N., M.H.A.


Douglas F. Busch
Lloyd Dean
Claire M. Fagin, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Suzanne Feetham, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Jennie Chin Hansen, R.N., F.A.A.N.
J. Taylor Harden, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Martha N. Hill, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Meredith Khachigian
Louise L. Liang, M.D.
Wayne McCormick, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P.
Bernita McTernan
Andrew P. Mezey, M.D., M.S.
Nilda (Nena) Peragallo, Dr.PH., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Corinne H. Rieder, Ed.D.
Peter C. Scheidt, M.D., M.P.H.
Cheryl M. Scott
S. Leonard Syme, Ph.D.
Robert J. Szczerba, Ph.D.


Amy A. Nichols, Ed.D., R.N., C.N.S., C.H.S.E. (Chair)
Kupiri Ackerman-Barger, Ph.D., R.N.
Jason Adams, M.D.
Susan L. Adams, Ph.D., R.N., N.P., C.N.S.
Nick Anderson, M.S., Ph.D.
Ester Carolina Apesoa-Varano, Ph.D.
Debra Bakerjian, Ph.D., A.P.R.N., F.A.A.N., F.A.A.N.P., F.G.S.A.
Janice F. Bell, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.N.
Laurel A. Beckett, Ph.D.
Lars Berglund, M.D., Ph.D.
Julie T. Bidwell, Ph.D., R.N.
Shelley Blozis, Ph.D.
Lavjay Butani, M.D.
Sheryl L. Catz, Ph.D.
Fawn A. Cothran, Ph.D., R.N., G.C.N.S.-B.C.
Timothy W. Cutler, Pharm.D.
Sharon Demeter, M.A., M.S., R.N., C.N.M.
Christiana Drake, Ph.D.
Suzanne Eidson-Ton, M.D., M.S.
Felix D. Emond, Jr., M.S., P.A.-C., D.F.A.A.P.A.
Joshua Fenton, M.D., M.P.H.
Erik Fernandez y Garcia, M.D., M.P.H.
Scott Fishman, M.D.
Philippe R. Goldin, Ph.D.
David S. Grega, P.A.-C., M.P.A.S., D.F.A.A.P.A.
Theresa A. Harvath, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Shelly Henderson, Ph.D.
Ladson Hinton, M.D.
Jill Joseph, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
Gerald Kayingo, Ph.D., P.A.-C.

Katherine Kim, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.
Tae Youn Kim, Ph.D., R.N.
Kenneth W. Kizer, M.D., M.P.H.
Nancy E. Lane, M.D.
Brent Luu, Pharm.D., B.C.P.S., B.C.A.C.P.
Frederick J. Meyers, M.D.
Lisa Soederberg Miller, Ph.D.
Jessica Draughon Moret, Ph.D., R.N., S.A.N.E.-A.
Jann Murray-Garcia, M.D., M.P.H.
JoAnne E. Natale, M.D., Ph.D.
Thomas S. Nesbitt, M.D., M.P.H.
Ricky Norwood, D.N.P., M.S.N., R.N., F.N.P.-B.C.
Jeffrey M. Pearl, M.D.
Elizabeth Rice, Ph.D., P.M.H.N.P.-B.C., R.N.
George Rodway, Ph.D., A.P.R.N.
Patrick S. Romano, M.D., M.P.H.
Cara M. Sandholdt, Ph.D.
Sumathi Sankaran-Walters, Ph.D.
Alison Semrad, D.O., F.A.C.P., E.C.N.U.
Kathryn Sexson, Ph.D., A.P.R.N., F.N.P.-B.C.
Elena O. Siegel, Ph.D., R.N.
Charleen Singh, Ph.D., F.N.P.-B.C., CWOCN, R.N.
Daniel Tancredi, Ph.D.
Hendry Ton, M.D., M.S.
Laura L. Van Auker, D.N.P., R.N., F.N.P.-B.C., S.N.-C.
Deborah Ward, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Gordon H. Worley, R.N., M.S.N., F.N.P.-C., C.E.N., C.F.R.N., E.M.T.-P., F.A.W.M.
Peter Yellowlees, M.B.B.S., M.D.
Heather M. Young, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Sheri Zidenberg-Cherr, Ph.D.