Betty Irene Moore Hall bears the name of a passionate woman dedicated to improving the quality of health care. For more than a decade, Mrs. Moore has been an advocate for patients and families, a champion of nursing and a pioneer for improving health care. She is the co-founder of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, which committed $100 million in 2007 to launch the School of Nursing at UC Davis.

Through Mrs. Moore’s vision, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation led a movement to improve patient care through nurses. This was based on her personal experiences when in the hospital and in caring for others who had been hospitalized. Mrs. Moore saw how nurses play a critical role in the delivery of safe, quality health care and set out to improve it by investing in the very people who deliver 95 percent of the care people receive. This vision is further amplified by the school’s approach to health sciences education, where nurses and other professionals are prepared to lead the changes necessary in health care.

Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis

Stephen J. Cavanagh, PhD, MPA, R.N., FACHE, FAAN


Jerry Bambao, M.S., RN-BC
Suzanne Beshore, M.S., R.N.
Douglas F. Busch
Jacqueline Clavo-Hall, PhD, M.S., J.D., R.N.
Christine Lima, PhD, MSN, R.N.
Helen Thomson, R.N.


Rebecca Badeaux, MSJ
Jenny Carrick
Terri Harvath, PhD, R.N., FAAN, FGSA
Jana Katz-Bell, MPH
Jeffrey M. Pearl, M.D.
Elizabeth Rice, PhD, MPHNP-BC, R.N.
George Rodway, PhD, APRN
Sallie-Grace Tate
Debbie Ward, PhD, R.N., FAAN



CONTRIBUTORS Rebecca Badeaux, Jenny Carrick, Sarah Colwell, Teri Sanborn D’Amelio, Rick Kushman, Toby Marsh, Kem Saichaie, Brian Todd

PHOTOGRAPHY Rebecca Badeaux, Jenny Carrick, Eskaton, John Harte, Jaimi Lynn Photography, Jeremy Sykes, Enloe Medical Center and Mark Thau Photography

DESIGN Page Design Group

PRINTING Fong & Fong

The University of California does not discriminate in any of its policies, procedures or practices. The university is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer.

Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing at UC Davis

Engaged Partners


G. Russell (Russ) Bell, Ph.D. (Chair)
Joanne M. Disch, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N. (Co-chair)
Linda Burnes Bolton, Dr.PH., M.S.N., F.A.A.N.
Louis Burns
Dario J. Frommer, J.D.
Deborah Greenwood, Ph.D., R.N., C.D.E., F.A.A.D.E.
Sandra R. Hernandez, M.D.
Susan Reinhard, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Diane Schweitzer
Helen Thomson, R.N.
Richard B. Weininger, M.D.


Amy A. Nichols, EdD, R.N., CNS, CHSE (Chair)
Kupiri Ackerman-Barger, PhD, R.N.
Jason Adams, M.D.
Susan L. Adams, PhD, R.N., N.P., CNS
Nick Anderson, M.S., PhD
Ester Carolina Apesoa-Varano, PhD
Debra Bakerjian, PhD, APRN, FAAN, FAANP, FGSA
Janice F. Bell, PhD, MPH, M.N., FAAN
Julie T. Bidwell, PhD, R.N.
Shelley Blozis, PhD
Lavjay Butani, M.D.
Sheryl L. Catz, PhD
Stephen J. Cavanagh, PhD, MPA, R.N., FACHE, FAAN
Fawn A. Cothran, PhD, R.N., GCNS-BC
Timothy W. Cutler, PharmD
Madan Dharmar, MBBS, PhD
Christiana Drake, PhD
Felix D. Emond, Jr., M.S., PA-C, DFAAPA
Mark Fedyk, PhD
Joshua Fenton, M.D., MPH
Erik Fernandez y Garcia, M.D., MPH
Scott Fishman, M.D.
Philippe R. Goldin, PhD
David S. Grega, PA-C, MPAS, DFAAPA
Theresa A. Harvath, PhD, R.N., FAAN, FGSA
Shelly Henderson, PhD
Ladson Hinton, M.D.
Jill Joseph, M.D., PhD, MPH
Gerald Kayingo, PhD, PA-C
Katherine Kim, PhD, MPH, MBA
Tae Youn Kim, PhD, R.N.

Nancy E. Lane, M.D.
Brent Luu, PharmD, BCPS, BCACP
Frederick J. Meyers, M.D.
Lisa Soederberg Miller, PhD
Jessica Draughon Moret, PhD, R.N., SANE-A
Jann Murray-García, M.D., MPH
JoAnne E. Natale, M.D., PhD
Thomas S. Nesbitt, M.D., MPH
Ricky Norwood, DNP, MSN, R.N., FNP-BC
Jeffrey M. Pearl, M.D.
Shana L. Ruggenberg, EdD, RNC-OB, CNS, CNE
Elizabeth Rice, PhD, PMHNP-BC, R.N.
Patrick S. Romano, M.D., MPH
Cara M. Sandholdt, PhD
Sumathi Sankaran-Walters, PhD
Kathryn Sexson, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC
Mary Lou de Leon Siantz, PhD, R.N., FAAN
Elena O. Siegel, PhD, R.N.
Charleen Singh, PhD, FNP-BC, CWOCN, R.N.
Hendry Ton, M.D., M.S.
Laura L. Van Auker, DNP, R.N., FNP-BC, SN-C
Gordon H. Worley, MSN, R.N., FNP-C, ENP-C, FAWM
Heather M. Young, PhD, R.N., FAAN