UC Davis Health receives 2023 Pain Fellowship Excellence Award


The UC Davis Health Pain Medicine Fellowship Program has been honored with the 2023 Pain Fellowship Excellence Award.

The award is from the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM). It recognizes accredited pain fellowship programs within the United States that provide an exceptional learning experience to their fellows, preparing them to deliver the highest standard of care to patients with pain.

“Our training mission is to help future leaders in pain medicine progress through developing advanced knowledge and skills in managing patients in pain while practicing excellent patient care and participating in a stimulating research environment,” said Scott Gregory Pritzlaff, a clinical associate professor and director of the Pain Medicine Fellowship Program. “We are honored that AAPM has recognized the excellence of our team.”

One woman wearing a grey suit and two men in white medical coats stand in a hallway.
Mureen Darrington, Scott Gregory Pritzlaff and Michael J. Jung.

Michael J. Jung is the program’s associate director and Mureen Darrington is the fellowship/education coordinator.

The Pain Management Fellowship Program selects six physicians to participate in the one-year training every year.

The program provides fellows with the broadest experience in pain medicine, including traditional and novel analgesics and state-of-the-art interventional procedures.

The award will be presented at the AAPM Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on Friday, March 24.

Clinical Trials at UC Davis