In 2016, Solano County Behavioral Health (SCBH), partnered with UC Davis Center for Reducing Health Disparities (CRHD), to launch a multi-phase, five-year community initiated Mental Health Services Act (MHSA) Innovation project known as the Solano County Interdisciplinary Collaboration and Cultural Transformation Model (ICCTM). SCBH and UC Davis leaders made numerous presentations to the Mental Health Services Oversight and Accountability Commission (MHSOAC) about the ICCTM Project. As a result, MHSOAC contracted with the CRHD and SCBH to bring a statewide ICCTM Learning Collaborative based on the AAMC award-winning, Solano County ICCTM Innovation project.

     Mental Health Services Oversight and Accountability Logo                                                 Solano County Behavioral Health Division Logo

This statewide Interdisciplinary Collaboration and Cultural Transformation Model (ICCTM) Learning Collaborative is a free, virtual, training series specifically geared for California County Behavioral Health Departments and Authorities. The purpose of the ICCTM Learning Collaborative is to address health inequities in access and utilization of quality mental health services that are prevalent within many of our communities. This training series focuses particular attention on the racial, ethnic, and economic inequities that occur in historically underserved communities, which have been exacerbated by the ongoing COVID 19 pandemic. All trainings are being delivered virtually via Zoom to Mental Health Plan Equity / Ethnic Services Managers, Mental Health Plan Quality Improvement (QI) Managers and QI Team members, Mental Health Services Act (MHSA) Coordinators / Lead staff for Innovation Projects, Behavioral Health Directors / Chief, and Cultural Ambassadors.

African American family with a dad, mom and daughter, mom and daughter hugging

The training sessions consist of the following topics:

•    Solano County ICCTM Project Overview 
•    The Impact of COVID 
•    Social Determinants of Health 
•    National Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Service (CLAS) Standards 
•    Trauma in the Trenches 
•    Untangling Intangible Loss in the Treatment of Traumatic Grief 
•    Quality Improvement and Mental Health Plan Equity Data 
•    Community Engagement Models: 3-part session
•    ICCTM Sustainability 

In addition to the Learning Collaborative, an additional element of the project is the mentor-mentee component.  Four (4) mentee counties were selected to develop community-defined, quality improvement (QI) action plans that are focused on health equity and addressing local disparities. The four Counties are Fresno, Kern, Los Angeles, and Marin. SCBH will serve as the primary mentor, supported by CRHD.

 Fresno County Logo   Kern County  Logo   Los Angeles County SealMarin County Logo