Inclusion, Diversity, Anti-Racism, and Equity (IDARE) taskforces | UC Davis Health

Inclusion, Diversity, Anti-Racism, and Equity (IDARE)

The Inclusion, Diversity, Anti-Racism, and Equity (IDARE) initiative established in 2020 catalyzes a health system wide effort to advance the following goals outlined in the UC Davis Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Strategic Vision.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) committee taskforces achieve these goals by several means.  By appointing and empowering taskforces to assess efforts in critical DEI-impacting processes, such as hiring and promotion, we stimulate more attention, consideration, and accountability to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in those processes.  In other words, these taskforces help leaders, managers, and members of a department stay focused on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion goals. 

Why taskforces?

Diversity Taskforces Are Evidence-based Strategies. At the core of this initiative are the IDARE taskforces, shown to be one of the most effective means for organizations to improve Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in a study of over 800 firms in the US. Studies have shown that more centralized oversight and management of DEI efforts can motivate decision makers to take more care to avoid the appearance of bias, which, in simulated hiring, has been shown to reduce bias. Additionally, taskforces, particularly those with representation from different sectors and diverse identity groups, help organizations make better informed decisions and generate more innovative strategies.

IDARE Taskforces
  • Below is a list of the current IDARE chairs who oversee their unit's taskforce. Interested in participating in your IDARE taskforce? Please contact the chair(s) listed below for your respective unit.

Comprehensive Cancer Center
Allyn Fernandez, M.P.H.
Shehnaz Hussain, Ph.D.

Clinical and Translational Science Center
Elizabeth Vasile, Ph.D.
Rachel Reeves, Ph.D.

MIND Institute
Janice Enriquez, Ph.D.
Roy Ben-Shalom, Ph.D.
Vanessa Avila-Pons, M.A., L.M.F.T.

Ambulatory Care
Amy Moore

Medical Center
Troy Taylor
Kristine Seraspi
Kimmie Bleichner-Jones (past-chair)

Medical Center Unit Websites
Please note that this webpage is only available to UC Davis affiliates.

Sharon Ashley, M.D.

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
David Segal, Ph.D.
Flora Tassone, Ph.D.

Barbara Burrall, M.D.

Emergency Medicine
Kara Toles, M.D.

Family and Community Medicine
Micaela (Mika) Godzich, M.D., M.S.
MK Orsulak, M.D., M.P.H.

Internal Medicine
Jose Morfin, M.D.
Olivia M. Campa, M.D.
Karnjit (KJ) Johl, M.D. (past chair)

Medical Microbiology and Immunology
Jose V. Torres, Ph.D.

Temitayo Oyegbile-Chidi, M.D., Ph.D.

Neurological Surgery
Ryan M. Martin, M.D.
Krupa Savalia, M.D., Ph.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology (OBGYN)
Catherine (Cat) Cansino, M.D., M.P.H.

Orthopaedic Surgery
Rolando F. Roberto, M.D.

Erynne A. Faucett, M.D.
Rodney Diaz, M.D., F.A.C.S. (past chair)
Maggie Kuhn, M.D., M.A.S. (past chair)

Elham Vali Betts, M.D.
Verónica Martínez Cerdeño, Ph.D.

Erik Fernández y García, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.P.
Laura Kester Prakash, M.D., M.P.H.

Elva D. Diaz, Ph.D.

Public Health Sciences
Crystal Herrara
Kristyn Keylon
Cornel Wade (past chair)

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
J. Faye Dixon, Ph.D.

Cell Biology and Human Anatomy
Jorge E. Contreras, Ph.D.
Keith Baar, Ph.D. (past chair)

Physiology and Membrane Biology
Jorge E. Contreras, Ph.D.
Keith Baar, Ph.D. (past chair)

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Brandee L. Waite, M.D.
Marcia I. Faustin, M.D.

Tracy Yarbrough, M.D., Ph.D., M.A.Ed.
Shadi Aminololama-Shakeri, MD (past chair)

Radiation Oncology
Julian R. Perks, Ph.D.

David Cooke, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Luis A. Godoy, M.D.

Urologic Surgery
Chengfei Liu, M.D., Ph.D.
Eric Kurzrock, M.D., F.A.A.P.
Jennifer Rothschild, M.D., M.A., M.P.H. (past chair)