Effective January 1, 2017, California state law requires children to be correctly restrained in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old OR 4'9" tall.  Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall.  All children 8 years and under must be restrained in the back seat.




Virtual Car Seat Services

virtual car seat classWe now offer virtual car seat education and inspections, as well as social distancing compliant car seat installations.

  • Free community car seat classes are available in English and Spanish through Zoom. In the virtual community car seat classes, we cover the California child passenger safety law, car seat weight and height limits, proper car seat harness use, and car seat installation demonstration in the rear-facing and forward-facing positions.
  • Free car seats. To qualify, the parent or caregiver must be in need of a car seat for the child and receive government assistance (e.g. WIC, Cal Fresh, Medi-Cal or Cal Works).
  • Virtual car seat inspections through Zoom, ensuring that car seats have been installed correctly. This is a free service.
  • Socially distanced car seat installation. The public can make an appointment and one of our certified car seat technicians will install their car seat for free. Masks are worn and a limited amount of time is spent inside of the car.

For more information and to schedule a virtual appointment, contact:
Misael Chavarin at: 916-734-9794 (call) Or 916-719-8315 (text) Si habla Español

Car Seat Safety and Free Car Seat Inspection Information

English (PDF)

Spanish (PDF)

Russian (PDF)

Chinese (PDF)

Dari (PDF)