Dr. Kevin Gardner

Kevin L. Gardner, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Vice Chair and Professor
Department of Pathology and Cell Biology, Columbia University

Dr. Kevin L. Gardner, professor and senior vice chair, Columbia University, is a former senior investigator with the NIH. He is considered an expert in personalized medicine in relation to molecular pathology/oncology, and in 2011 he was honored with the NIH Director’s Award for “conducting the first research to clearly define a possible molecular mechanism linking metabolic imbalance with increased breast cancer risk.” He also was honored in 2015 with the Office of the Director’s Honors Award as part of the Intramural NIH-Wide Diversity Support Team.

“A Metabolic Switch that Drives Epigenetic Regulation in Breast Cancer.”


  1. Learn general epidemiology and demographics of breast cancer in the US
  2. Understand basic principles of epigenetic regulation.
  3. Understand molecular linkages between metabolism and epigenetic regulation in breast cancer.
  4. Understand basic principle of the biology of breast cancer health disparities

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Medical Education Building
Second Floor Auditorium & Breezeway
4610 X Street, Sacramento, CA 95817

11:30 AM - 1:30 PM:
Faculty Research Presentation Lunch

3:45 PM - 4:45 PM
Poster Session and Social Hour

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Keynote Address

6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Buffet Dinner and Reception

RSVP: https://2019stowell.eventbrite.com

View the Save the Date flier (PDF) for the 2019 Robert E. Stowell Symposium


The Robert E. Stowell Lectureship supports the annual appointment of a distinguished scientist as a visiting lecturer at the UC Davis School of Medicine. The lectureship, established in 1991, is named for its founder, an internationally renowned pathologist and educator who, before his retirement, served as the first chair of the School's Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. Dr. Stowell is the recipient of the nation's highest award in pathology, the American Association of Pathologists Gold-headed Cane.



Previous Recipients of the Stowell Lectureship 

2018 Abul K. Abbas, M.B.B.S.
2017 Eric J. Huang, M.D., Ph.D.
2016 Satdarshan Monga, M.D., Ph.D.
2015 Arlene H. Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D.
2014 Jeremy K. Nicholson, Ph.D.
2013 Thomas J. Giordano, M.D., Ph.D.
2012 Yuan Chang, M.D.
2011 Vinay Kumar, M.D.
2010 Stanley Cohen, M.D.
2009 Geoffrey S Ginsburg, M.D., Ph.D.
2008 Godfrey Getz, M.D.
2007 Stephen J. Galli, M.D.
2005 William A. Gardner, Jr., M.D.
2004 Helen M. Blau, Ph.D.
2003 Irving L. Weissman, M.D.
2002 Francis V. Chisari, M.D.
2001 Donald Orlic, Ph.D.
2000 Ronald S. Weinstein, M.D.
1999 Richard D. Klausner, M.D.
1998 Stephen J. DeArmond, M.D., Ph.D.
1997 Michael A. Gimbrone, Jr., M.D.
1996 Andrew H. Wyllie, MD, Ph.D.
1995 Fred Gorstein, M.D.
1994 Cheryl L. Willman, M.D.
1993 Peter M. Howley, M.D.
1992 Robert W. Wissler, M.D., Ph.D.
1991 Benjamin F. Trump, M.D.