The UC Davis Department of Neurology conducts basic & clinical research and provides clinical care f

The 21st century is a remarkable time for the field of Neurology. Thanks to unprecedented advances in neuroscience and bioengineering research – leading to life-saving treatments for previously incurable illness – we’re experiencing a dynamic transformation. Today, we know more about the nervous system and have more effective treatments for neurological diseases than ever before.

The UC Davis Health Department of Neurology brings together academic neurologists, neuropsychologists, and basic and clinical research scientists to pursue a three-fold mission of world-class patient care, groundbreaking research, and innovative education.

Our neurologists are nationally recognized experts engaged in cutting-edge research on a broad range of nervous system disorders including Alzheimer’s disease, Huntington’s disease, epilepsy, stroke, MS, traumatic brain injury and many other conditions. At UC Davis Health, we’re committed to leveraging these breakthroughs to develop innovative treatments that are accessible to all patients with neurological disorders. Our health system is dedicated to addressing health disparities to ensure that underserved populations receive the highest quality care.

We partner with colleagues across the health system and university, including the Department of Neurological Surgery, to provide multidisciplinary team management for neurological disorders. In concert with our groundbreaking research, this multidisciplinary clinical approach has earned our department recognition by US News & World Report and other national surveys as one of the top 40 Neurology-Neurological Surgery programs in the United States.

We look forward to continuing to work together to pursue our shared mission of improving lives and transforming health care by providing outstanding patient care, conducting groundbreaking research, fostering innovative education, and creating dynamic, productive partnerships with the community.



Amy Brooks-Kayal, M.D., FAAN, FANA, FAES
Professor and Chair
Andrew John Gabor, M.D., Ph.D. 
Presidential Endowed Chair
Department of Neurology