• CHPR News

    July 2021

CHPR-Affiliated Faculty Receive 2020 Deans' Excellence Award

The 2020 Deans’ Excellence Awards, which recognize outstanding work by faculty, staff and teams at the UC Davis School of Medicine and Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing (BIMSON), have been announced. The UC Davis Center for Healthcare Policy and Research (CHPR) is pleased to note that five of this year’s awardees are UC Davis Health faculty members affiliated with our Center.

Aimee Moulin, M.D. and professor of Emergency Medicine, and the members of her CA Bridge team received a Deans’ Team Award for Excellence. The CA Bridge program team treats individuals for substance use in the emergency department and supports them in transitioning to continued care.

A Deans’ Team Award for Excellence was also awarded to Larissa May, M.D. and professor of Emergency Medicine, and her Public Health Screening (PHASE) team. Universal screening for HIV and the Hepatitis C virus, and care coordination for high-risk patients who test positive, has been carried out by members of the PHASE team since 2018.

Tonya Fancher, M.D., M.P.H., and professor of Internal Medicine, and her team established the protocol that enabled a pilot clinic to become the central hub that all UC Davis student-run clinics could refer patients to during the COVID-19 pandemic. They received the Deans’ Award for Excellence in Team Inclusion for this collaborative effort to continue providing healthcare services, despite an ongoing public health crisis, to the underserved community members these clinics serve.

Deans’ Awards for Excellence in Diversity were awarded to two BIMSON professors who are also CHPR faculty affiliates: Janice Bell, Ph.D., M.D., M.N., and Jill Joseph, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H. Dr. Bell is Director of the Ph.D. program and Associate Dean for Research at BIMSON; prior to her recent retirement, Dr. Joseph had served as the latter.

CHPR is proud of these excellent clinicians and researchers and agrees with Allison Brashear, Dean of the UC Davis School of Medicine, who said their “work is improving health and changing lives.” Congratulations!