Faculty honored with Chancellor awards for mentorship

This month, UC Davis Chancellor Gary May honored excellence in undergraduate research and also recognized the excellence in mentorship by faculty that helps empower young researchers. Included in the honorees were two UC Davis School of Medicine faculty, John Richards and Luis Carvajal-Carmona.

The annual awards were instituted in 1994 as a way to emphasize the importance and visibility of faculty contributions to excellence in mentoring and advocacy for undergraduate research and creative activities.

Read more about this award »

EM Chair receives 2020 Hibbard Williams Extraordinary Award

We are exceptionally proud of our Department Chair, Dr. Nate Kuppermann for receiving the @ucdavismedschool Hibbard Williams Extraordinary Achievement Award! Dr. Kuppermann has been recognized nationally for his research and mentorships over the years. He has served as a leader in emergency medical services for children, particularly in multicenter research. He has had research published in high-impact journals such as JAMA and New England Journal of Medicine focusing on infectious emergencies in children, evaluation of children at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis-related cerebral injury, and laboratory and radiographic evaluation of the pediatric trauma patient. Dr. Kuppermann has made an impact and continues to work hard as well as advocate for important social causes. We as a department are inspired by your contributions and lucky to have you as our leader. Congratulation!

Read more about this award »

Kuppermann receives Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Distinguished Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine — He has made outstanding contributions to the science of pediatric emergency medicine. His research has improved infant care and helped establish the Pediatric Emergency Research Networks, a multisite international collaborative research team that conducts rigorous, pioneering investigations into the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children. His work on traumatic brain injuries, hemorrhagic torso trauma, diabetic ketoacidosis and life-threatening bacterial infections in febrile infants has established best practices for effectively treating major childhood emergencies.

Read more about this award »

Professor of Emergency Medicine Publishes Review on Cannabinoid Use

Professor John R. Richards, MD, in the UC Davis Department of Emergency Medicine has published a review of the pharmacodynamics and molecular mechanisms behind cannabis and synthetic cannabinoid-induced acute coronary syndromes and arrhythmias in the Journal of Cardiovascular Pharmacology and Therapeutics titled "Mechanisms for the Risk of Acute Coronary Syndrome and Arrhythmia Associated With Phytogenic and Synthetic Cannabinoid Use."

Read more about this review »

Emergency Medicine faculty receive Dean's Excellence Awards

Excellence in Education/Teaching:

Emily Andrada

Team Award for Excellence in Clinical Care

Emergency Department and Psychiatric Consult Team (team leader Aimee Moulin)

This team includes faculty from the ED, Psychiatry, the Psychiatric Evaluation Service from Social Services, Clinical Case Management, Substance Use Disorder Navigator and the navigator from Hope Cooperative. They are recognized for their efforts addressing gaps in the community in substance use treatment, supportive housing, as well as streamlining clinical processes with medical clearance, and most recently opening a patient-centered treatment area to that focuses on recovery. This team has minimized the trauma associated with a traditional ED setting.

Team members include Emilie Bhe, David Liu, Huma Attari, Lorin Scher, Debra Kahn, Nathan Kuppermann, Tommy Trevino, Sandra Overby, Judith Rodgers, Roger Cook, Maya Malekano, Catherine Swope, Craig Harris, Duane Wright, Pamela Schwartz, Lora Knippers-Davis, Saira Matthiesen, Melissa Morales, Alison Kemps, Christine Waligora, Kellie Curnutt, Stephen Keenan, Cesar Mardones, Regina Blaine, Katherine Roper, Xeng Thao, Susan Harris, Jolene Ford, Andrea Kutler and Karina Mendoza-Gonzalez.

See more Dean's Excellence Awards recipents »