The School of Medicine Office of Research (SOMOR) is comprised of the Research Operations Unit, Laboratory Health and Safety Unit, Grants Facilitation Unit, Research Space Oversight Unit and the Office of Entrepreneurship & Industry Alliances Unit. 

The School of Medicine Office of Research supports investigators who perform biomedical research across the UC Davis School of Medicine and the UC Davis main campus. 

Staff Directory

Core Administration

Lars F. Berglund, M.D., Ph.D. (Research Profile)
On sabbatical, will return December 2019
Associate Vice Chancellor for Biomedical Research, UC Davis
Vice Dean for Research
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Emeritus Director, UC Davis CTSC
Office: 916-703-9120
lberglund@ucdavis.edu

Lars Berglund

Theodore (Ted) Wun, M.D., FACP (Research Profile)
Interim Vice Dean for Research
Associate Dean for Clinical Translational Research
Director of the UC Davis Clinical and Translational Science Center
Chief of Hematology and Oncology
Office: 916-734-3772
twun@ucdavis.edu

Ted Wun

Angela Haczku, M.D., Ph.D. (Research Profile)
Associate Dean for Translational Research
Professor of Medicine
Director, Translational Lung Biology Program
Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Division
Office: 530-754-6932
haczku@ucdavis.edu

Angela Haczku

Anuurad Erdembileg, M.D., Ph.D., M.A.S. (Research Profile)
Assistant Dean for Research
Director, School of Medicine Office of Research
Office: 916-703-9143
anuerdem@ucdavis.edu

Research Operations

Tammi Olineka, M.B.A.
Research Operations Supervisor
Office: 916-734-7933
tlolineka@ucdavis.edu

Tammi Olineka

Nguyet (Nugget) Kong
Research Analyst
Office: 916-703-0498
nugdao@ucdavis.edu

Nguyet Kong

Randi Freeman
Research Analyst
Office: 916-703-0493
rgfreeman@ucdavis.edu

Tasska Johnson
Administrative Assistant
Office: 916-703-9141
tpjohnson@ucdavis.edu

Tasska Johnson

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

James Kovach, M.D., J.D.
Assistant Dean for Entrepreneurship and Industry Alliances
Director, Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Office: 916-703-9139
Cell: 415-408-8888
jjkovach@ucdavis.edu

James Kovach

Industry Alliances

Mark Romney
Director, Research Development and Industry Alliances
Office: 916-734-7146
Cell: 916-834-7883
msromney@ucdavis.edu

Mark Romney

Mary Mumper
Administrative Assistant
Office of Entrepreneurship and Industry Alliances
Office: 916-734-7400
mamumper@ucdavis.edu

Mariah Godfrey
Administrative Assistant
Industry Partner Liaison
Office: 916-694-9552
margodfrey@ucdavis.edu

Mariah Godfrey

Grants Facilitation

Jeffrey Elias, Ph.D.
Director, Grants Facilitation Unit
Office: 916-703-9223
jwelias@ucdavis.edu

Jeffrey Elias

Erica Chédin, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Collaborative Research Proposals
Office: 916-703-9145
emchedin@ucdavis.edu

Erica Chedin

Betty Guo, Ph.D.
Associate Director, Individual Research Proposals and Training Grants
Office: 916-703-9137
bpguo@ucdavis.edu

Betty Guo

Safety Management

Shawn Rasmussen
Safety Officer
School of Medicine, Biomedical Engineering and Genome Center Davis Campus
Office: 916-703-9182
Cell: 916-761-7582
Pager: 916-816-1539
serasmussen@ucdavis.edu

Shawn Rasmussen

Elizabeth Ingham
Safety Officer
School of Medicine, Genome Center & Biomedical Engineering, Davis Campus
Office: 530-752-9996
Cell: 530-304-0006
esingham@ucdavis.edu

Shawn Rasmussen

Mark Vasquez
Senior Auto Equipment Operator
School of Medicine Receiving
Office:  530-752-6555
thevasquez@ucdavis.edu

Mark Hanke

Eric Hanke
Auto Equipment Operator
School of Medicine Receiving
Office: 530-752-6566
Cell: 530-574-7642
emhanke@ucdavis.edu

Eric Hanke

Research Space Oversight

Eric R. Graham
Space Planner
School of Medicine
Office: 916-734-8005
Cell: 530-979-1645
egraham@ucdavis.edu

Eric Graham