• christiansen and haudenschild

    Christiansen Lab

The main focus of my research is adaption of musculoskeletal tissues to the mechanical environment, injury, aging, or disease. The musculoskeletal system has an innate ability to repair and optimize itself based on the mechanical demands placed on it. By studying this adaptation, we are able to uncover underlying mechanisms that contribute to diseases such as osteoporosis and osteoarthritis. My laboratory primarily utilizes small animal models and quantifies adaptation using advanced imaging techniques, histology, and mechanical testing. I currently have several active areas of research, including investigation of mechanisms of post-traumatic osteoarthritis and investigation of systemic bone loss following a bone fracture or musculoskeletal injury.

  • Yu-Yang (Will) Lin, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2020-present
  • Sophie Orr, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2020-present
  • Benjamin Osipov, Postdoctoral Fellow, 2018-present
  • Mu-Cyun Tseng, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2022-present
  • Armaun Emami, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2013-2019
  • Allison Hsia, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2014-2019
  • Hailey Cunningham, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2014-2021
  • Priscilla Tjandra, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (M.S., Ph.D.), 2016-2023
  • Manali Paralkar, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (M.S.), 2018-2019
  • Elias Jbeily, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2017-2023, UC Davis Medical Student 
  • Erica Ely, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2017-2020
  • Mollie Heffner, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student (Ph.D.), 2011-2016, Current position: Research Specialist, UC Davis Mouse Biology Program, Davis, CA
  • Kevin Lockwood, M.S., Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student, 2012-2013, Current position: Research & Development Engineer, Ortho Development, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Patrick Satkunananthan, M.S., Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student, 2012-2013, Current position: Process Engineer, Lumina, San Diego, CA
  • Mohammad Khorasani, M.S., Biomedical Engineering Graduate Student, 2012-2013, Current position: Medical Student, State University of New York Upstate Medical University
  • Fengdong Zhao – Research Fellow. Current position: Professor, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Sir Run Run Shaw Hospital, Zhejiang University
  • Sindi Diko, B.S., Post-Baccalaureate Fellow, 2012-2014, Current position: D.O. Student, Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Matthew Anderson – Research Fellow. Current position: Orthopaedic Resident, Albany Medical College, Albany, NY
  • Bryce Chu, B.S., Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2012-2013, Current position: D.O. Student, Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Gregory Yeh, B.S., Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2011-2012, Current position: Associate Mechanical Engineer, Accel Biotech, Inc., Redwood City, CA
  • Alex Kelemen, B.S., Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2012-2013
  • Anisha Gaitonde, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2014-2015
  • Franklin Tarke, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2015
  • Joseph Pevec, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2015
  • Earl Lagmay, Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2015

2009 – present, Member, Orthopaedic Research Society
2010 – present, Member, American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
2012 – present, Member, Osteoarthritis Research Society International
2014 – present, Member, Journal of Orthopaedic Research Editorial Board
2018 – present, Member, Journal of Bone and Mineral Research Editorial Board

2005 ASME Summer Bioengineering Conference, 1st Place- Student Paper Competition
2010 American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, Young Investigator Award
2010 United States Bone and Joint Decade – Young Investigators Initiative
2011 American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Harold M. Frost Young Investigator Award
2014 International Bone and Mineral Society, Sun Valley Alice L. Jee Award
2014 American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, Junior Faculty Osteoporosis Research Award