• Students

    UC Davis School of Medicine Curriculum Redesign

I-Explore: Proposing a new curriculum at UC Davis School of Medicine

The School of Medicine has been engaged in an exciting and comprehensive effort to re-vision our curriculum to best prepare our graduates for the practice of medicine in the 21st century. Most recently in this process, Vice Chancellor David Lubarsky and Interim Dean Lars Berglund tasked Associate Dean for Curriculum and Medical Education Kristin Olson with assembling a curriculum redesign team of faculty, residents, students and staff to develop 2-3 curricular plans for broader discussion.

After nearly a year of intensive work by the Curriculum Design Team, two versions of the I-EXPLORE curriculum (“Blue” and “Gold”) were presented to the Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) in January 2020.  Over the following two months, Dr. Colleen Sweeney (Chair of CEP) led the committee in a thorough examination of the two plans, which included a student survey and faculty survey. CEP then voted to approve the Blue Plan and recommended it to the Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) for adoption. On March 11, the FEC voted unanimously to approve the Blue Plan and began preparations for a faculty vote.

In preparation for the upcoming vote, CEP and FEC are hosting three virtual town halls for faculty to ask questions of Curriculum Design Team members. These town halls are organized around the Basic Science, Medical Science and Surgical Science departments so that more specific departmental interests can be better reflected in the discussions.

Curriculum Design Team Members (in alphabetical order):

Joanna Arnold, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Student Learning and Educational Resources (OSLER)

Paul Aronowitz, M.D., M.A.C.P.
Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Medicine (HSCP) and Co-IOR Internal Medicine Clerkship

Hillary Campbell, M.D., M.P.H
Internal Medicine, Kaiser

Melody Hou, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor in Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology

Russell Jones, M.D.
Associate Professor, Associate Residency Director & Medical Student Clerkship Director

Joe Kim, M.D.
Internal Medicine & Psychiatry PGY-3

Santiago Lombo Luque, M.D.
Recent UC Davis School of Medicine Graduate

Theresa Murdock-Vlautin, M.D.
Director of Clinical Skills & Assessment & Professor of Clinical Pediatrics

Kristin Olson, M.D.
Associate Dean for Curriculum & Associate Professor of Pathology

Amanda Phares, M.D.
Resident, General Surgery

Jennifer Plant, M.D.
Division Chief, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Fourth Year Oversight Committee Chair & Transition to Residency Co-IOR


Fernando Santana, Ph.D.
Professor & Chair in Physiology & Membrane Biology

Andres Sciolla, M.D.
Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Barbara Shacklett, Ph.D.
Professor, Medical Microbiology and Immunology


Lane Squires, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Clinical Otolaryngology


Sarah Westcott, MS4
Medical Student
Marjorie Westervelt, M.P.H
Director, Curriculum & Educational Technology
Barton Wise, M.D., MSc, F.A.C.P.
Associate Professor/Associate Professor in Residence