• Residency program

The mission of the UC Davis Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PMR) residency program is to provide excellent training across the entire scope of PMR practice through didactics, clinical experience, research opportunities and faculty mentorship.

We offer eleven residency positions, both categorical and advanced. Two residents per year enter as interns (categorical positions) and one as a PGY-2 (advanced position). With fifteen faculty physiatrists based at UC Davis Medical Center, three based at VA Northern California Healthcare System in Sacramento, and volunteer clinical faculty members from around the Northern California region, the resident/ faculty ratio is very low. Our young, dynamic and growing faculty provides regular one-on-one interaction with residents, creating a cohesive atmosphere.  The diverse nature of our faculty is reflected in the range of sub-specialty qualifications and certifications, including pediatric rehabilitation, SCI, Neuromuscular Medicine, Sports Medicine, Spine, EMG and TBI.

Residents are provided a wide variety of clinical experience through rotations at UC Davis Medical Center and our primary affiliations, VA Northern California Healthcare SystemKaiser Foundation Hospital and Shriners Hospitals for Children, Northern California. All the affiliates are within 30 minutes of the University Medical Center in Sacramento.

Outpatient physical medicine and rehabilitation clinics offer general and specialized care to those with neurological, musculoskeletal and neuromuscular disorders. Multispecialty clinics include the Spine ProgramSports Medicine Program and ALS and MDA clinics. The department houses the primary Electrodiagnostic laboratory for the health system with over 1200 studies performed annually. Within the university hospital (a Level 1 trauma center), we provide an active inpatient consultation service and a 19-bed adult and 6-bed pediatric rehabilitation unit to serve the needs of patients requiring inpatient rehabilitation.

2019-20 Housestaff Roster


Jaime Fong
Carter Kittleson
Ali Warrick


Jaire Saunders
Dana Sheng
Billy White


Jorge Cuza
Nimar Kahlon
Jordan Wang


Brandon Hassid
Gabriel Wilds