American Academy of Pediatrics honors 3 UC Davis Health physicians


Three UC Davis Health physicians were among the 60 pediatricians, pediatric subspecialists and trainees who were recognized this month by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

AAP winners left to right: Tiffani Johnson, Heather McKnight, Satyan Lakshminrusimha
Left to right: Tiffani Johnson, Heather McKnight, Satyan Lakshminrusimha

Those selected were recognized for exemplary achievements in advocacy, practice and research that impact the care of children every day.

  • Satyan Lakshminrusimha, chair and professor in the Department of Pediatrics and pediatrician-in-chief at UC Davis Children’s Hospital, received the AAP Education Award for his work on the Council on Communications and Media, the Committee on Pediatric Education and the Committee on Continuing Medical Education.
  • Tiffani Johnson, associate professor of emergency medicine at UC Davis Health, received an Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Award for her work on the AAP Board of Directors.
  • Heather McKnight, division chief of pediatric hospital medicine at the UC Davis School of Medicine, received the Section on Hospital Medicine Service Award. This honored her work as co-chair for the Section on Hospital Medicine Subcommittee on Division Directors and as a member of the section’s population health management Women and LGBTQIA+ subcommittees.

Most recipients will receive their awards during the AAP National Conference & Exhibition this month in Washington, D.C.